Ashes 2013: England select same squad for Test


Captain Alastair Cook’s side won the opening contest of the Ashes series at Trent Bridge by 14 runs in what was a thrilling finish on Sunday.

Paceman Steven Finn struggled for form in Nottingham but Lord’s is his home ground and that may work in his favour.

The Ashes: England v Australia


10-14 1st Test, Trent Bridge – England win by 14 runs

18-22 2nd Test, Lord’s


1-5 3rd Test, Old Trafford

9-13 4th Test, Chester-le-Street

21-25 5th Test, The Oval

If Finn is dropped, Tim Bresnan or Graham Onions could replace him.

“It was a fantastic start to the Test series with both sides showing a huge amount of skill and determination,” said England selector Geoff Miller.

“I would like to congratulate England on showing a great deal of composure to win by 14 runs. I have no doubt that the rest of the series will be equally compelling.

“We have selected the same squad for the Lord’s Test as this continues to provide options for Alastair Cook and [coach] Andy Flower.”

Whether Cook decides to utilise his options in regards to 24-year-old Finn remains to be seen.

The Middlesex bowler took two wickets at Trent Bridge in 25 overs, which came at a cost of 117 runs.

He was brought to the attack during the final day as Australia closed in on their target of 311 but conceded 24 runs in two overs.

“The Middlesex man is a bowler short on confidence and Australia know it,” said BBC cricket correspondent Jonathan Agnew in his column.

“In the manner of a pride of lions picking off an old wildebeest from the back of the pack, Australia attacked Finn because they could see he was struggling.

“I cannot see Finn retaining his place at Lord’s, which is a shame because it is his home ground and he actually bowls quite well there.

“The best thing for him to do now is to go back to his county, take some wickets and get his confidence back.”

England squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Matt Prior (Sussex, wk), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), James Anderson (Lancashire), Graham Onions (Durham).


Posted on July 15, 2013, in Cricket and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: